DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

All for the Countryside


All for the Countryside




CATALOGUE TEXT
!!! The film will be shown for its premiere (29.10., 16:15, CineStar 4) without German subtitles for the deaf and hard-of-hearing !!!

Life in the country has many facets and faces. Nature, peace, tradition. But reality today is often different, because structural change is destroying Europe’s villages. Schools are forced to close, communities are underfinanced, land speculation makes the farmers’ work harder and glaringly illuminated cities make the stars harder to see than a few years ago even in the hinterland. Locked-up cinemas, dilapidated houses, deserted train stations.

Gesa Hollerbach’s unagitated documentary portrays four people and their lives. They come from very different backgrounds: a mayoress, an astronomer, a restaurateur, and a female farmer active in the European Parliament. In Saxony, in the Allgäu, in Austria. Ultimately, though, they are united in a joint, relentless struggle for their respective homes. The film wants to show that change can be imagined and implemented, that resistance bears its first fruits and that the tireless efforts of those courageous guardians of the countryside are not in vain. Today we see young families in the streets again and couples who deliberately choose to move to the country. The change has already begun.

Julia Weigl

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Landretter Country: Germany Year: 2019 Language: German Subtitle: English, German Runtime: 83 min. Format: DCP Color: Colour Director: Gesa Hollerbach Producer: Erik Winker, Martin Roelly, Alexander Dumreicher-Ivanceanu, Bady Minck Cinematographer: Jennifer Günther Editor: Carina Mergens Music: Johannes Winkler Sound: Johannes Winkler Script: Gesa Hollerbach
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2019 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Landretter






KATALOGTEXT
!!! Der Film wird zu seiner Premierenvorstellung (29.10., 16:15 Uhr, CineStar 4) ohne deutsche Untertitel für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Hörfähigkeit gezeigt !!!

Das Leben auf dem Land hat viele Facetten und Gesichter. Natur, Ruhe, Tradition. Doch die Realität sieht heute häufig anders aus, denn der Strukturwandel zerstört Europas Dörfer. Schulen müssen schließen, Gemeinden sind unterfinanziert, Landspekulationen erschweren die Arbeit der Bauern und grell erleuchtete Städtchen lassen auch die Sterne im Hinterland nicht mehr so klar erkennen wie noch vor Jahren. Verriegelte Kinos, verlotterte Häuser, verödete Bahnhöfe.

Gesa Hollerbachs unaufgeregter Dokumentarfilm porträtiert vier Menschen und deren Schicksale. Alle haben sie sehr unterschiedliche Hintergründe: eine Bürgermeisterin, ein Astronom, ein Gastronom, eine Bäuerin, die sich im Europaparlament engagiert. In Sachsen, im Allgäu, in Österreich. Am Ende vereint sie allerdings der gemeinsame unerbittliche Kampf für ihre jeweilige Heimat. Dabei möchte der Film zeigen, dass Veränderung gedacht und gemacht werden kann, dass Widerstand erste Früchte hervorbringt und die unermüdliche Arbeit dieser mutigen Landretter nicht umsonst ist. So sieht man heute wieder junge Familien auf den Straßen und Paare, die sich bewusst dafür entscheiden, aufs Land zu ziehen. Der Wandel hat bereits begonnen.

Julia Weigl

/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Landretter Land: Deutschland Jahr: 2019 Sprache: deutsch Untertitel: deutsche, englische Laufzeit: 83 min. Format: DCP Farbe: Colour Regie: Gesa Hollerbach Produktion: Erik Winker, Martin Roelly, Alexander Dumreicher-Ivanceanu, Bady Minck Kamera: Jennifer Günther Schnitt: Carina Mergens Musik: Johannes Winkler Ton: Johannes Winkler Buch: Gesa Hollerbach
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2019 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber.