DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Taste of Hope


Taste of Hope




CATALOGUE TEXT
A spectre is haunting Europe – the spectre of cooperative economy. It spreads fear because it gives the small cogs in the giant economic wheel the power of decision over the sense, purpose and speed of the whole machinery. It is one of the last great emancipation projects: liberation from the frustration of knowing that your destiny lies in the not always skilful hands of strangers. The cooperative tea refinery Scop-TI in Gémenos in southern France, founded in 2016, was created by such an act of liberation: For 1,336 days, the employees occupied the production facilities of the Fralib tea factory to extort a new start under their own management from their “employer” global corporation.

What precisely this management looks like and whether it is capable of translating the revolutionary spirit of machine kidnapping into a working production routine that secures everyone’s livelihood is the basic question of Laura Coppens’ film, which turns it into a kind of statement of accounts – about income and spending, insights and exertions. She sends us on an assembly line through the cooperative daily working routine which requires more maintenance than some people expected. A portrait of Che Guevara is hanging in the manager’s office; a credit application is pending at the bank. The fight continues.

Sylvia Görke

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Le goût de l’espoir Country: Switzerland, Germany Year: 2019 Language: French Subtitle: English, German Runtime: 71 min. Format: DCP Color: Colour Director: Laura Coppens Producer: Laura Coppens Cinematographer: Laura Coppens Editor: Angelika Levi, Laura Coppens Music: Azadeh Zandieh Sound: Azadeh Zandieh Website: tasteofhope-film.com
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2019 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Taste of Hope






KATALOGTEXT
Ein Gespenst geht um in Europa – das Gespenst des genossenschaftlichen Wirtschaftens. Es verbreitet Angst, weil es den kleinen Rädchen im gigantischen Wirtschaftsgetriebe die Macht gibt, über Sinn, Zweck und Drehzahl der ganzen Maschine zu entscheiden. Es ist eines der letzten großen Emanzipationsprojekte: die Befreiung vom Frust, die eigenen Geschicke in den nicht immer geschickten Händen fremder Leute zu wissen. Die seit 2016 bestehende Teeveredelungskooperative Scop-TI im südfranzösischen Gémenos geht auf einen solchen Befreiungsakt zurück: 1.336 Tage lang besetzte die Belegschaft die Produktionsstätten der Fralib-Teefabrik und erpresste vom „arbeitgebenden“ Weltkonzern einen Neuanfang unter eigener Regie.

Wie genau diese Regie aussieht und ob sie den revolutionären Geist des Maschinen-Kidnappings in eine funktionierende, für alle existenzsichernde Produktionsroutine zu überführen vermag, ist die Grundfrage von Laura Coppens’ Film, der damit zu einer Art Rechenschaftsbericht wird – über Einnahmen und Ausgaben, über Einsichten und Verausgabung. Auf einem Fließband schickt sie uns in einen genossenschaftlichen Arbeitsalltag, der doch wartungsintensiver ist, als sich das die eine oder der andere vorgestellt hatte. Im Leitungsbüro hängt ein Konterfei von Che Guevara, bei der Bank hängt ein Kreditverfahren in der Luft. Der Kampf geht weiter.

Sylvia Görke

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Le goût de l’espoir Land: Schweiz, Deutschland Jahr: 2019 Sprache: französisch Untertitel: deutsche, englische Laufzeit: 71 min. Format: DCP Farbe: Colour Regie: Laura Coppens Produktion: Laura Coppens Kamera: Laura Coppens Schnitt: Angelika Levi, Laura Coppens Musik: Azadeh Zandieh Ton: Azadeh Zandieh Website: tasteofhope-film.com
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2019 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber.